In this guide we will show you how to deploy your game to live. First of all, you need to know that Gamedonia offers two enviroments to work with your game:
- Development - Here is where you'll be doing most of your work on your game (developing, testing, tweaking values...).
- Live - This is the live enviroment for your game. Your users will be using this version of your game when playing, so you should be careful here when modifying anything once the game is launched.
The deployment process transfers the state of your game (the version of the scripts, the collections you created, the settings...) from the development enviroment to live. This way you can first develop and test in a safe enviroment and later on move the changes and the tested code to a live enviroment, which you can open to your users when the time comes.
How it works
What happens when you do a deploy? Let's see how each component of your game is deployed:
- Master - The content of these collections is transferred directly when deploying. This is especially useful when creating collections of static items (the weapons of a role game, the awards for each boss in the game...).
- Normal - Data from these collections won't be transferred when deploying. Even if the collection has entities in the development enviroment, the first time you deploy you will see these collections as empty in the live enviroment.
The code in your scripts will be updated to the version that is now in development.
The settings will be updated with the value currently in development.
An exception is the iOS live setting for push notifications. This one will apply directly at the live enviroment.
How to deploy
To deploy your game from development to live, you only need to visit the Gamedonia Dashboard and enter the Game Management > Deployment section and click on Deploy Now. And that's it! As said, you should be careful here because this will affect your current game users.
You can see the state of the live enviroment by clicking on the Live tab at the Dashboard. You will notice that you can't modify or delete scripts in live, so that you don't mess up the current state of your game accidentally.
Once your deploy is done, a snapshot of it will be added to the Deployment History and you will see a list of past deploys.
For each deploy done you have these options:
You can deploy an older deploy snapshot if the snapshot is not the one currently deployed in live. This is useful to revert to a previous working version of your game if something goes wrong.
This will download a .zip file with configuration data form your game and all the data from the master collections.
Here you will be able to compare the deploy snapshot with the Dashboard version. You will see the list of collections and scripts and the action to execute if you want your current Development enviroment to look like the deploy snapshot.
For instance, if a script was different at the time a specific deploy was done, the compare list will tell us that The package configuration is not the same as the dashboard and the default action will be to revert it (so that the development enviroment gets back to the deployed version). If you would select all options and apply the default action, the Development enviroment would revert to the state of the deploy snapshot.